Fasilkom UI Doctoral Promotion – Dr. Santi Indarjani

Fakultas Ilmu Komputer Universitas Indonesia > E-News > Fasilkom UI Doctoral Promotion – Dr. Santi Indarjani


On June 26, 2015, Fasilkom UI held an open session for a Computer Science doctorate conferment for Santi Indarjani. The session was held in Room 1213 Building A, Fasilkom UI. The presented dissertation was “Efek Serangan Penyisipan dan Modifikasi pada Pseudorandom Number Generator Berdasarkan Studi Empiris dan Teoritis” (Effects of Modification and Insertion Attacks on Pseudorandom Number Generator Based on Empirical Studies and Theoretical Proofs).

The researcher sees that in today’s digital era, digital information is globally and openly connected by internet. This affects the pattern of information attack. Although the target remains the same, which is information, the techniques and strength involved in the new kind of attacks are increasing in a wider variety. Attacks can be internal or external, or done actively and passively.

Hence, Santi proposes a new scenario of insertion and modification attacks on the Pseudo Random Number Generator (PRNG). PRNG is an algorithm to generate a sequence of random numbers yet still owns few randomness determinants. The attacks were launched on several standard PRNG algorithms. Furthermore, Santi also tries to measure the effects of these attacks on PRNG’s outer part using empirical studies and theoretical proofs, where the effects are measured based on randomness test, statistical distance test and entropy difference test. This study can also show the immunity of the tested PRNG algorithm.

This session was led by Mirna Adriani, Ph.D., with Prof. Belawati H. Widjaja, Ph.D. and Dr. Kiki Ariyanti Sugeng as the acting promoter and co-promoter. The examiners were Prof. Heru Suhartanto, Ph.D., Dr. Ravi Ahmad Salim, Lim Yohanes Stefanus, Ph.D., Dr. Ade Azurat, and Dr. Eko Kuswardono Budiardjo. This dissertation is rated as highly distinctive and brought a doctorate in Computer Science for Dr. Santi Indarjani as the 44th graduate from Fasilkom doctoral program. (SA)